The Nathan Rosenfelder Family

Advertisement
Visitors to the Church Parish Fair Fill your needs here during D. Heimann’s FINAL YARDGOODS WAREHOUSE CLEARANCE SALE. in Gunzenhausen. 25% discount during the Church Parish Fair. Discount applies to all Merchandise.

Nathan Rosenfelder was born November 23, 1881 in Aufhausen, the son of merchant Moses Rosenfelder and his wife Therese, born Obermeier. He was trained as a merchant and banker.

In the neighboring community of Oberdorf he married Selma Heimann on January 28, 1909. Selma was the sister of the merchant David Heimann, and their parents were Urias and Clothilde Heimann of Bopfingen.

David Heimann was married to Bertha Rosenfelder, the sister of Nathan Rosenfelder.
Unfortunately we do not know where this couple lived. Neither do we know birth and death dates of David Heimann.

Although Nathan Rosenfelder moved from Noerdlingen to Gunzenhausen in 1907, he was not granted citizenship till January 10, 1919.


The Rosenfelder family in August 1922
The Rosenfelder family in August 1922 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

The couple (Nathan and Selma Rosenfelder) had three children:
Hertha born June 13, 1910
Manfred born May 11, 1913
Ulrich born July 14, 1919

The family lived at Marktplatz 16. Selma Rosenfelder’s father Urias Heimann, had already opened a yard goods store there in 1899. The business was passed on to his son David in 1901. In 1902 the house was also passed on to David. After his sister Selma married the banker Nathan Rosenfelder, they decided in 1909 to also open a bank in the same building. It is interesting to note that it was called the “Heimann Bank”, even though David Heimann was not a banker, but he did own the house.

The breastplate of the Rosenfelder Family
The breastplate of the Rosenfelder Family

Nathan Rosenfelder also seems to have come from a well-to-do family, because in 1927 Theodor Harburger photographed a Tora Shield in the synagogue of Gunzenhausen which had come from a Rosenfelder family. In Volume 1 of the “Inventory of Jewish Art and Cultural Relics in Bavaria” (1998) the following is noted:

"The two photos by Harburger of breastplates from Gunzenhausen, which had been donated anonymously to the Jewish Museum of Frankonia some years ago, are good examples to back up the thesis about a Tora as personal adornment (jewelry) within a family. For example, the banker Nathan Rosenfelder and his wife Selma of Aufhausen in Wuerttemberg  donated a breastplate to the Synagogue in Gunzenhausen. It had been created around 1680, and when the Rosenfelders moved from Noerdlingen to Gunzenhausen in 1907 they brought it along. They had an appropriate dedication engraved on the back of it before they gave it to the Gunzenhausen Synagogue.”

Photo of “Bankhaus Heiman” about 1920
Photo of “Bankhaus Heiman” about 1920 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

In 1920 Nathan’s Sister Lina Rosenfelderof Noerdlingen married the banker Karl Weinmann of Altenmuhr. David Heimann bought them the house at Luitpoldstrasse 1, and the brother-in-law is added to the bank, which became the 'Heimann-Rosenfelder-Weinmann' Bank.

Picture of an inflation banknote for 10,000,000 Marks.
Picture of an inflation banknote for 10,000,000 Marks.

Temporary Emergency Bank note
Nr. 1588 MK.10,000,000.--
The D.Heimann Bank, Gunzenhausen
will honor this check in lieu of cash money
until the shortage of cash is over, and should be
honored by all .
Ten Million Marks
Gunzenhausen, September 18th, 1923
Stamped by D.Heimann, signed by S. Rosenfelder

The Arold family lived in the attic apartment of the same house with their three children, who grew up with the Rosenfelder children.
The daughter of the Arold family, who is now Mrs. Kleinschmidt, told us about that time:
 'The Rosenfelder family was very well-to-do. When Mrs Selma Rosenfelder went shopping and noticed a needy person, she always added something for these people to her purchases.

Manfred 1933 as university student in Wuerzburg with his brother Ulrich.
Manfred 1933 as university student in Wuerzburg with his brother Ulrich © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

She too had received little treats from Mrs Rosenfelder as a child. Her family could not afford them.

When the Nazis came to power, we could not speak openly to the Jewish people. My father Mr. Arold  had to meet with Mr. Rosenfelder in the stairway or in the courtyard to communicate. He urged Nathan to leave the country.

The family had a hard time deciding what to do. At first they sent the children away, but in 1934 the family registered their departure for Stuttgart, hoping that they could live unmolested in such a big city.

But soon after that they emigrated to the USA.'

Both brothers and their families were registered in the “1939 German Book of wanted felons” by the Stuttgart prosecutor’s office as “wanted for tax evasion.

A warrant for tax evasion from the Department of Revenue Augsburg against Max and Nathan Rosenfelder
A warrant for tax evasion from the Department of Revenue Augsburg against Max and Nathan Rosenfelder ( © Kerstin and Frank Wolf December 2002.)

b) Max Rosenfelder, born June 7, 1889 in Aufhausen, District-A. Regensburg, last known address Charlottenstrasse 12, Stuttgart, currently in America.
(Reichsfluchtsteuer) Tax debt owed 10,8 73.50 Reichsmark, overdue since May 17, 1939, plus penalty. A warrant for tax evasion from the department of revenue in Augsburg of September 26, 1939 was published in the “German Reich’s Gazette” Nr.242 of October 16, 1939.

c) Nathan Rosenfelder, born November 23, 1881 in Aufhausen, District-A. Regensburg, last known Address Vogelsangstrasse 11, Stuttgart-West, currently in America.
(Reichsfluchtsteuer) Tax debt owed 11,304.25 Reichsmark, overdue since May 17, 1939 plus penalty. A warrant for tax evasion  from the department of Revenue in August of September 26, 1939 was published in the “German Reich’s Gazette” Nr. 242 of October 16, 1939.

The citizenship of one brother, Max Rosenfelder and his family was revoked April 1, 1940 (RAZ NR. 84, dated 10. April 10, 1940). According to this source he was married to Martha, born Guckenheimer * July 23, 1901 in Dinkelsbuehl.

Their children were
Manfred, born November 19, 1925 in Nuremberg
Ernst, born May 27,1927 in Nuremberg

Nathan Rosenfelder and his family lost their citizenship on November 10, 1939 (RAZ Nr. 267, dated November 14, 1939).

It has been very difficult to find the descendants, because both sons had changed their names drastically. The daughter Herta married in the USA and became Herta Katten. However she, as well as her brothers, have  passed away in the meantime.

Manfred changed his last name to “Rost” in the USA, and the family resided in Princeton, New Jersey.

Ulrich lived in Holon, Israel and changed his name to Uri Vered.

Frau Kleinschmid who maintains a friendly relationship with the families gave us the new names and addresses.

The widows and children of the brothers are still alive. We are delighted to have contact with Mrs. Helene Vered in Holon, Israel. We thank her for her willingness to share the history of her family so freely with us. Without Mrs Vered’s kind assistance and the following letters we would never have known the various paths this family took.

She wrote:
I am glad to be able to help you sort out the events of that terrible time.

On March 24 1934 the Nazis entered the home of the Nathan Rosenfelder family with the intention of killing him. But he just happened to be away from home, thank God. Nathan Rosenfelder realized that the situation was becoming very serious. He sold the house and he and his family immediately resettled in Stuttgart. There he went to the American Consulate and told them about the situation and what had taken place in Gunzenhausen. He wanted to share his knowledge with countries outside Germany, and he wanted it to mobilize help from SOMEONE in fighting the injustices. The consul asked if he could be of help. Nathan Rosenfelder responded with a plea to have him sponsor his daughter’s emigration to America, since at that point he had no relatives there, and the consul agreed to it.

So Herta Rosenfelder went to New York and took a job in a nursing home. After a while she sponsored her brother Manfred’s immigration, and after another year the two were able to have their parents and their brother Ulrich/Uri  join them too.

Nathan Rosenfelder made it possible for many more relatives to come to America, thereby saving their lives.
In New York the brothers Nathan and Max opened a textile business and the whole family had to help and worked there.

Friday August 20, 1948 – Death notice for Nathan Rosenfelder
Friday August 20, 1948 – Death notice for Nathan Rosenfelder, died 1948 in New York.

On August 17, suddenly and unexpectedly my dear husband, our devoted father, grandfather, father-in-law, brother, brother-in-law, and uncle passed away
NATHAN ROSENFELDER
(formerly of Gunzenhausen)
In the name of all the bereaved Selma Rosenfelder, born Heimann
2034 Honeywell Ave. New York 60, NY
Please refrain from personal visits.


Max Weinmann of Argentina, the son of Karl and Lina Weinmann, and cousin of the three Rosenfelder children wrote to us:
'I know that Ulrich left the USA for Palestine in 1939 to volunteer in the war. His father was not aware of it at the time. In 1948 he also participated in the fight for freedom in Israel, while he raised a family there.'

That explains why, after the war, part of the family lived in the USA, and one son in Israel.

Mrs. Vered, widow of Uri (Ulrich) adds this:
'Uri, the youngest son had already wanted to leave Stuttgart and emigrate to Palestine, but because he was still a minor, he could not do it without his parents’ permission. So he spent six months in Stuttgart as an electrician’s apprentice, until he joined his parents when they went to New York. There he additionally learned to be a radio technician, and took courses in graphics and shorthand. When in 1939 there was talk of a war, he took all his savings from odd jobs, and bought a ticket for passage to England on the “Queen Mary”. From England he went to Marseille, and from there to Haifa, Palestine. He had only a tourist visa, because that was the only thing available at the time. That was in 1939, at the very last moment before the war (WWII) began. Fortunately he had an aunt there, the sister of his mother, and also some cousins, who welcomed him. The police in England were looking for him, because his visa had expired, They wanted to extradite him. He had no choice but to change his name and became Uri Vered (Vered means “rose” in Hebrew). After living with his aunt for a month, he moved to a Kibbuz, and after a year, in 1940, he joined the British army, and was discharged in 1946. Uri Vered passed away in 1985'

In February 2003 Mrs. Vered added the following:
'After the death of my father-in-law Nathan Rosenfelder in 1948, his brother Max and his wife Martha and my mother-in-law Selma Rosenfelder continued to run the business in New York. When Max Rosenfelder also died, his wife (widow) Martha , together with Selma Rosenfelder ran the business a while longer, until it become too much for them. So they gave up the business.

Manfred Rost - Rosenfelder had studied law in Wuerzburg, but in the early 1930s he had to give it up. So he learned to be a precision tool maker instead, which would be more useful in America. He found employment in the laboratory at Princeton University and stayed there until his retirement. His wife Annie (Annelisa) still lives in Princeton. They have four children.

My husband Uri Vered had been an electrician’s apprentice in an electric company in Stuttgart, and later in the USA he continued his training/education. In 1946, after his discharge from the military, he got a job with the Israeli electric company. Unfortunately he could not continue his studies at the technical institute, because he had to earn money to support his family. We had married and soon had a son and then two daughters. Then my husband My husband Uri started taking correspondence courses to get an engineering degree at the “British Institute”. All citizens of the British Commonwealth had the opportunity to do this, for example, people from India or Australia etc,  Palastine was under British Jurisdiction at the time too. It took him several years to get his engineering degree. He worked at the electric company for 30 years.

The daughter Herta Rosenfelder married Julius Katten in New York, who came from Halsdorf in Hessia. They had one son, Elmer Menachem, who came to Israel in 1978 and lives in a settlement. He arrived with his wife Hanna and two children, and they had four more children. Two daughters are married already. His mother Herta stayed alone in New York after her husband had died. When she became ill and could no longer live alone,  she too went to Israel. She lived a few more years in Jerusalem , where she later died and is buried. Elmer called me last week to tell me that he saw everything (the website about the Jews in Gunzenhausen)  in the internet. He was very happy about that and thanks you all very much.'

Hertha Katten located Fred Dottenheimer after the war and told him about the suitcase at Frieda Wiedmann’s. Perhaps we should introduce this house briefly too. Karl Heimann supposedly still lives in New York.

It was interesting to find out more about David Heimann, although we still don’t know when and why he left Gunzenhausen to return to Oberdorf. His family had a textile business there. It seems that he sold products from the Heimann company in Oberdorf through the business in Gunzenhausen, as did his father Urias before him. After the textile business (in Gunzenhausen) was closed and a bank was opened in the house, he appears to have resettled in Oberdorf in 1910, even though he was still co-owner of the bank building.

Today the Thora roll of the David Heimann family is one of the most valuable pieces on exhibit in the renovated Synagogue in Oberdorf.

Thora roll
Thora roll © Photo and comments by Felix Sutschek

Chiam Loeb Heimann had this Thora made In Vienna in 1872. It accompanied David, Berta and Karl Heimann from Oberdorf to the USA in August 1939.

During WWII the Heimanns decided to let the Synagogue at Fort Dix use the Thora roll for the Jewish soldiers there.

In 1993 on the occasion of the dedication of the  memorial and meeting place of the Thora bearers in Oberdorf, Karl Heimann presented the Thora roll to them on permanent loan.


Mrs. Vered wrote the following about the history of her  family:
After he had been freed from Dachau, David Heimann and his wife Berta emigrated to America. Together with his youngest brother Hermann he built a chicken farm in Lakewood New Jersey. David Heimann (and his wife) had three sons. Heiner, the oldest, went to Palestine in the early 1930s.First he lived in a Kibbuz, and after he got married he lived in a village, where he raised chickens. He died a few years ago. Two of David Heimann’s sons lived in New York: Udo-Martin and Karl Heimann. Udo-Martin has also passed away, but Karl still lives in New York. David Heimann lived well into his 90s.

The Commerce and Agriculture Bank of Ansbach acquired the house at Marktplatz 16 in 1934 for 34,000 RM. They opened a bank branch there.

Photo of Marktplatz 16 in 1934
Photo of Marktplatz 16 in 1934 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

In 1982 the house became the property of the Stingl Company, who opened a Jewelry business there. Today Ralf Troester is the owner and also runs a Jewelry and Optical business.

Familie Nathan Rosenfelder

Anzeige vom 13.09.1912 im "Gunzenhauser Anzeigeblatt"
Anzeige vom 13.09.1912 im "Gunzenhauser Anzeigeblatt"

Nathan Rosenfelder, gelernter Kaufmann und Bankier, wurde am 23.11.1881 als Sohn des Handelsmannes Moses Rosenfelder und seiner Frau Therese, geb. Obermeier, in Aufhausen geboren.

Im Nachbarort Oberdorf heiratet er am 28.01.1909 Selma Heimann, die Schwester des Kaufmannes David Heimann. Die Eltern der Beiden waren Urias und Clothilde Heimann aus Bopfingen.
David Heimann war mit Bertha Rosenfelder verheiratet, der Schwester von Nathan Rosenfelder.

Leider wissen wir nicht, wo dieses Ehepaar gewohnt hat. Auch das Geburts- und Sterbedatum von David Heimann wissen wir nicht.

Obwohl Nathan Rosenfelder schon 1907 von Nördlingen nach Gunzenhausen gezogen war, erhält er dort erst am 10.01.1919 das Bürgerrecht.

Familie Rosenfelder im August 1922
Familie Rosenfelder im August 1922 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

Das Ehepaar hat drei Kinder:

  • Hertha, *13.06.1910
  • Manfred, *11.05.1913
  • Ulrich, *14.07.1919

Die Familie wohnt im Haus Marktplatz 16. Dort hatte 1899 schon Selma Rosenfelders Vater, Urias Heimann, ein Schnittwarengeschäft eröffnet, das 1901 auf seinen Sohn David überging. Im Jahr 1902 geht auch das Haus auf David über. Nachdem dessen Schwester Selma den Bankier Nathan Rosenfelder geheiratet hat, beschließen sie im Jahr 1909 in dem Haus eine Bank zu eröffnen. Interessanterweise wird es ‚Bankhaus Heimann’ genannt, obwohl David Heimann kein Bankier ist. Doch er ist der Besitzer des Hauses.

Auch Nathan Rosenfelder scheint aus einer wohlhabenden Familie zu kommen, denn Theodor Harburger fotografierte 1927 ein Toraschild in der Synagoge von Gunzenhausen, das von einer Familie Rosenfelder stammt. In Band 1 der ‚Inventarisierung jüdischer Kunst- und Kulturdenkmäler in Bayern’ (1998) steht dazu:
„An den beiden von Harburger fotografierten Gunzenhausener Tora-Schildern, die vor einigen Jahren anonym dem Jüdischen Museum Franken übergeben wurden, lässt sich die These von Tora-Schmuck in Familienbesitz exemplarisch belegen. So stiftete beispielsweise der aus Aufhausen in Württemberg stammende Bankier Nathan Rosenfelder zusammen mit seiner Frau Selma nach seinem Zuzug von Nördlingen im Jahr 1907 ein mitgebrachtes, um 1680 gefertigtes Tora-Schild (Abb. 233) für die Gunzenhausener Synagoge und ließ es mit einer entsprechenden Widmungsinschrift auf der Rückseite versehen.“

Bankhaus Heimann um 1920
Bankhaus Heimann um 1920 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel

1920 heiratet die Schwester von Nathan, Lina Rosenfelder aus Nördlingen, den Bankier Karl Weinmann aus Altenmuhr. David Heimann erwirbt für das Ehepaar das Haus in der Luitpoldstraße 1 und der Schwager wird mit in das Bankhaus aufgenommen. Es heißt nun Heimann-Rosenfelder-Weinmann.

Manfred 1933 als Student in Würzburg mit seinem Bruder Ulrich
Manfred 1933 als Student in Würzburg mit seinem Bruder Ulrich © Helene Vered, Holon/Israe

Im Dachgeschoss des gleichen Hauses lebt die Familie Arold, deren drei Kinder zusammen mit den Rosenfelder Kindern aufwachsen.

Die Tochter der Familie Arold, heute Frau Kleinschmidt, berichtete uns aus dieser Zeit, dass die Familie Rosenfelder sehr wohlhabend gewesen sei. Wenn Frau Selma Rosenfelder beim Einkaufen einen bedürftigen Menschen gesehen habe, habe sie für diesen stets etwas einpacken lassen.

Auch sie selbst habe als kleines Mädchen Naschereien von Frau Rosenfelder bekommen, die in ihrer Familie nicht üblich gewesen seien.
Als die Nazis an die Macht gekommen waren, hätte man mit der jüdischen Familie nicht mehr öffentlich sprechen dürfen. Ihr Vater, Herr Arold, habe sich daher mit Herrn Rosenfelder stets im Hof oder auf der Treppe getroffen, um mit ihm die Lage zu besprechen. Dabei habe er Nathan dringend geraten, das Land zu verlassen.

Doch die Familie habe sich nur sehr schwer dazu entschließen können. Zuerst seien die Kinder weggeschickt worden, doch 1934 habe sich dann doch die ganze Familie nach Stuttgart abgemeldet, in der Hoffnung, in einer Großstadt unbehelligt leben zu können. Doch schon kurze Zeit später sei die Familie in die USA emigriert.

Beide Brüder und ihre Familien wurden im "Deutschen Fahndungsbuch" von 1939 wegen Steuerflucht aufgeführt und durch die Staatsanwaltschaft Stuttgart zur Fahndung ausgeschrieben.

Steuersteckbrief
Steuersteckbrief des Finanzamtes Augsburg-Stadt gegen Max und Nathan Rosenfelder im Amtsblatt der Reichsfinanzverwaltung Nr. 35 vom 26.10.1939 S. 234.

Der Bruder Max Rosenfelder wurde mit seiner Familie am 01.04.1940 "ausgebürgert" (RAZ Nr. 84 vom 10.04.1940). Nach diesen Quellen war er verheiratet mit Martha, geb. Guckenheimer, * 23.07.1901 in Dinkelsbühl

Kinder:

  • Manfred, * 19.11.1925 in Nürnberg
  • Ernst, * 27.05.1927 in Nürnberg

Nathan Rosenfelder wurde mit seiner Familie am 10.11.1939 "ausgebürgert" (RAZ Nr. 267 vom 14.11.1939).

Doch die Nachkommen zu finden, war nicht einfach, denn beide Söhne hatten ihre Namen stark verändert. Tochter Hertha hat in den USA geheiratet und hieß dann Herta Katten. Sie ist jedoch inzwischen verstorben, ebenso wie ihre beiden Brüder.
Manfred nahm in den USA den Nachnamen ,Rost' an und lebte mit seiner Familie in Princeton, New Jersey.
Ulrich hat in Israel seinen Namen völlig geändert, er nannte sich Uri Vered und lebte in Holon.

Erst durch Frau Kleinschmidt, die heute noch mit den Familien in freundschaftlichem Kontakt steht, erfuhren wir die neuen Namen und Adressen.
Von beiden Brüdern leben heute noch die Witwen und Kinder.

Wir freuen uns über den Kontakt zu Frau Helene Vered aus Holon in Israel und danken ihr sehr für die Bereitschaft, uns so offen Auskunft über das Schicksal ihrer Familie zu geben. Die unten abgedruckten Briefe zeigen die weit verzweigten Wege dieser Familie auf, die wir ohne Frau Vereds Hilfe niemals erfahren hätten.

Nazis gingen am 24. März 1934 in das Haus der Familie Rosenfelder und wollten Nathan erschießen. Er war aber gerade nicht anwesend. Gott sei Dank. Da merkte Nathan Rosenfelder, dass es ernst wurde. Er verkaufte das Haus und übersiedelte sofort nach Stuttgart, mit der ganzen Familie. Dort ging er zum amerikanischen Konsulat und erzählte, was in Gunzenhausen vorgefallen war, damit man das im Ausland auch weiß und vielleicht etwas tun würde dagegen. Der Konsul fragte dann, ob er etwas für ihn tun könne. Nathan Rosenfelder bat ihn, die Bürgschaft zu übernehmen, dass seine Tochter Herta nach Amerika auswandern könne, weil sie ja zu der Zeit keine Verwandte dort hatten. Was der Konsul auch tat.
So fuhr Herta Rosenfelder nach New York und arbeitete in einem Altenheim. Nach einiger Zeit ließ sie ihren Bruder Manfred nachkommen und nach einem Jahr konnten die zwei dann die Eltern und den Bruder Ulrich – Uri nachkommen lassen.
Nathan Rosenfelder ließ dann viele Verwandte nach Amerika kommen und so wurden viele gerettet ... In New York eröffnete Nathan Rosenfelder mit seinem Bruder Max ein Textilwarengeschäft, in dem die ganze Familie mithelfen musste.

Todesanzeige von Nathan Rosenfelder
Todesanzeige von Nathan Rosenfelder, gestorben 1948 in New York

Ein Cousin der drei Rosenfelder Kinder, Max Weinmann aus Argentinien, der Sohn von Karl und Lina Weinmann, schrieb uns:
‚Ich weiß, dass Ulrich 1939 ohne Wissen seines Vaters von den USA als Freiwilliger nach dem damaligen Palästina in den Krieg ging. 1948 machte er auch den Freiheitskrieg in Israel mit und baute dort seine Familie auf.’
Das erklärt, warum nach dem Krieg ein Teil der Familie in den USA und ein Sohn in Israel lebte.

Frau Vered, Uris Witwe, schrieb und dazu:
Uri, der jüngste Sohn, wollte schon von Stuttgart aus nach Palästina auswandern, da er aber noch nicht volljährig war, konnte er das nicht ohne Erlaubnis der Eltern. So lernte er in Stuttgart ein halbes Jahr als Elektriker, bis der dann mit den Eltern nach New York fuhr. Dort lernte er weiter als Radiotechniker und machte auch noch andere Kurse, zum Beispiel in Grafik und Kurzschrift. Als man dann 1939 von Krieg sprach, nahm er sein ganzes gespartes Geld, das er mit verschiedenen Arbeiten verdient hatte, und kaufte sich eine Fahrkarte für die Überfahrt nach England mit dem Schiff Queen-Mary. Von England fuhr er nach Marseille und von dort nach Haifa, Palästina. Er hatte ein Touristenvisa, weil man damals kein anderes Visa bekam. Das war im August 1939, in letzter Minute vor Kriegsbeginn. Zum Glück hatte er hier eine Tante, die Schwester seiner Mutter und auch einige Cousins, von denen er gut aufgenommen wurde. Doch die englische Polizei suchte ihn, da sein Touristenvisum inzwischen abgelaufen war. Sie wollte ihn ausweisen. Da musste er seinen Namen ändern und hieß von nun an Uri Vered (Vered bedeutet in hebräisch Rose). Nach einem Monat, den er bei der Tante verbracht hatte, ging er in einen Kibbuz und nach einem Jahr, 1940, ging er zur britischen Armee, von der er im Jahr 1946 entlassen wurde. Uri Vered starb im Jahr 1985.

Ergänzend berichtete Frau Vered im Februar 2003
Nach dem Tod meines Schwiegervaters Nathan Rosenfelder im Jahr 1948 führte sein Bruder Max mit seiner Frau Martha und meiner Schwiegermutter Selma Rosenfelder das Geschäft (in New York) weiter. Dann starb auch Max Rosenfelder. Seine Frau Martha führte das Geschäft noch einige Zeit weiter zusammen mit Selma Rosenfelder. Das wurde den Beiden aber bald zu schwer. So wurde das Geschäft aufgelöst.

Manfred Rost-Rosenfelder hatte ja in Würzburg Jura studiert, musste dann aber anfangs der dreißiger Jahre das Studium abbrechen. So lernte er Feinmechanik, das man in Amerika besser gebrauchen konnte. Er bekam Arbeit im Laboratorium der Universität Princeton, wo er bis zu seiner Pensionierung arbeitete. Noch heute wohnt seine Frau Annie (früher Annelisa) in Princeton. Sie haben vier Kinder.

Mein Mann Uri Vered hatte schon in Stuttgart in einer Elektrofirma als Geselle angefangen zu lernen. Er hat dann in Amerika weitergelernt. Nach seiner Entlassung vom Militär 1946 bekam er Arbeit bei der israelischen Elektrizitätsgesellschaft. Leider konnte er nicht weiter studieren an einer technischen Hochschule, weil er Geld verdienen musste, um die Familie zu ernähren. Wir hatten geheiratet und bekamen auch bald einen Sohn und dann noch zwei Töchter. Da fing mein Mann Uri am "British Institut" an zu lernen für die Ingenieursprüfung. Da konnten alle Bürger des englischen Commonwealth schriftlich lernen, zum Beispiel Leute aus Indien und aus Australien und so weiter. Palästina war zu jener Zeit unter englischem Mandat. Er musste einige Jahre lernen bis er dann die Ingenieursprüfung bestand. Er arbeitete 30 Jahre bei der Elektrizitätsgesellschaft.

Die Tochter Herta Rosenfelder heiratete in New York Julius Katten, der aus Halsdorf in Hessen stammte. Sie hatten einen Sohn, Elmer Menachem, der 1978 nach Israel kam und jetzt in einer Siedlung wohnt. Er kam mit seiner Frau Hanna und zwei Kindern hierher und sie bekamen hier noch vier Kinder, wovon zwei Töchter schon verheiratet sind. Seine Mutter Herta war nach dem Tod ihres Mannes ganz allein in New York geblieben. Als sie krank wurde und nicht mehr allein sein konnte, kam sie auch nach Israel. Sie wohnte noch einige Jahre in Jerusalem, wo sie auch starb und beerdigt ist. Elmer rief mich vorige Woche an, um mir mitzuteilen, dass er alles im Internet gesehen hat. Er freute sich sehr darüber und lässt Ihnen allen danken.

Hertha Katten hat nach dem Krieg Fred Dottenheimer ausfindig gemacht und ihm von dem Koffer bei Frieda Wiedmann erzählt. Deshalb sollten wir vielleicht dieses Haus auch kurz vorstellen. Karl Heimann soll heute noch in New York leben.

Sehr interessant für uns war es auch, etwas über David Heimann zu erfahren, von dem wir noch immer nicht wissen, wann und warum er Gunzenhausen verlassen und wieder nach Oberdorf zurückgekehrt ist. Seine Familie hatte dort ein Textilunternehmen. Es ist anzunehmen, dass er in dem Geschäft in Gunzenhausen, ebenso wie vorher sein Vater Urias, Produkte der Firma Heimann aus Oberdorf verkauft hat. Nachdem das Stoffwarengeschäft aufgelöst und in dem Haus eine Bank eröffnet worden war, scheint er sich um 1910 wieder in Oberdorf niedergelassen zu haben, obwohl er weiterhin Mitbesitzer des Bankhauses war.

Heute ist in der renovierten Synagoge in Oberdorf die Thorarolle der Familie David Heimann eines der wertvollsten Ausstellungsstücke.

Foto und Hinweis: Felix Sutschek

Thorarolle der Familie Heimann

Diese Familienthora ließ Chaim Loeb Heimann 1872 in Wien anfertigen. Die Thora reiste mit David, Berta und Karl Heimann im August 1939 von Oberdorf in die USA.

Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges stellten die Heimanns die Thorarolle jüdischen Soldaten zum Gebrauch in einer Synagoge bei Fort Dix zur Verfügung.

Zur Eröffnung der Gedenk- und Begegnungsstätte in Oberdorf im Jahr 1993 hat Karl Heimann die Thorarolle dem Trägerverein als Dauerleihgabe übergeben.

Frau Vered schrieb uns über das Schicksal der Familie Heimann:
David Heimann wanderte nach seiner Entlassung aus Dachau mit seiner Frau Berta nach Amerika aus. Er baute sich mit seinem jüngsten Bruder Hermann eine Hühnerfarm in New Jersey in dem Ort Lakewood auf. David Heimann hatte drei Söhne, Heiner der Älteste kam schon anfangs der dreißiger Jahre nach dem damaligen Palästina. Erst war er in einem Kibuz, nach seiner Heirat wohnte er in einem Dorf und hatte eine Hühneraufzucht. Er ist vor einigen Jahren gestorben. Zwei Söhne von David Heimann wohnten in New York: Udo-Martin und Karl Heimann. Udo-Martin ist auch schon gestorben und Karl lebt noch in New York. David Heimann wurde weit über 90 Jahre alt.

Das Haus Marktplatz 16 erwarb 1934 die Gewerbe- und Landwirtschaftsbank Ansbach um 34.000 RM. Sie eröffnete dort eine Bankfiliale.

1982 gelangte es in den Besitz der Firma Stingl, die dort ein Juweliergeschäft eröffnete. Heute ist Ralf Tröster der Eigentümer, der dort ebenfalls ein Juwelier- und Optikergeschäft betreibt.

Marktplatz 16 im Jahr 1934
Marktplatz 16 im Jahr 1934 © Helene Vered, Holon/Israel