The Moritz Joelsohn Family

Moritz Joelsohn born 30. May, 1865 in Gunzenhausen is the son of merchant Joel Joelsohn and his wife Therese born Neuburg. He became well known as a cattle trader in Gunzenhausen. His wife was Karolina born Kocherthaler, born 21. May, 1872 in Ernsbach.
From 1897 to 1913 the Joelsohn’s official home was Hensoltstrasse 4.

Hensoltstrasse 4
Hensoltstrasse 4

The couple, Moritz and Karolina Hoelsohn, had four children:

Ludwig Born 2. October, 1894 in Gunzenhausen. 27. November, 1921 he gets a Christian Baptism in Munich. After the war (WWII) Ludwig Joelsohn became personal Special Consultant for the State Commission for racial, religious, and political victims of persecution in Gunzenhausen.

Alfred Born 19. August, 1895 in Gunzenhausen. In WWI he received the Iron Cross-second class.He also earned the military’s “distinguished service cross 3rd class with swords”. In 1939 he was registered as a resident in Berlin-Neukoeln.

Erwin Born 14. May, 1897 in Gunzenhausen. He worked as a cattle trader. In the war he was a machine Gunner and also earned the military’s “distinguished service cross 3rd class with swords” in November 1917.In 1929 he emigrated to the USA.

Nanni Born 8. October, 1899 also in Gunzenhausen. On 18. April, 1922 she married cattle trader Sali Bacharach of Fellheim born 30. May, 1892. The couple emigrated to Hartfort/Connecticut in 1938 with their children Henry, Werner, Margot and the grandmother.

Source: Documents of registered Jewish citizens of Gunzenhausen. Compiled by Werner Muehlhaeusser, City Archivist

The children of Moritz and Karoline Joelsohn
The children of Moritz and Karoline Joelsohn: Ludwig, Alfred, Nanni, and Erwin (left to right) © Walter Joelsen

In 2004 a descendent of the Joelsohn family got in touch with us. He was Walter Joelsen from Munich, son of Ludwig Joelsen. Even though he was baptised as an evangelical Christian, he was considered a “Half Jew” and was discriminated against during WWII. He was sent to a work camp. Later he found a position as evangelical pastor for students and then worked for German TV for many years.

In April 2004 he sent us an e-mail with information about the fate of his family.

Dear Students,
An article in the “Sueddeutsche Zeitung“ caught my eye, because it led me back to your website. There I saw that the story about my family had been published. I would like to give you some additional information which I had already sent to Mr. Muehlhaeusser two years ago.

I am the son of Ludwig Joelsen, the oldest son of Moritz Joelsohn. My father had chosen to be baptized in the Evangelical church and consequently lost close contact with his natural family. He also changed his name’s spelling to Joelsen, so I grew up as Walter Joelsen.

My grandfather, Moritz Joelsohn, died in 1929 in Gunzenhausen and is buried in the Jewish cemetery there. I don’t know where exactly the grave is. The grave stone however still exists and is located at the cemetery wall. My Grandmother Karolina born Kocherthaler remained behind alone. After the Pogrom of 1934/1935 the family of her daughter Nanni took her from Gunzenhausen. to Fellheim near Memmingen into their home.

Her son Erwin had already emigrated to the USA in 1929, so he was in a position to get visas for his mother and the families of his sister and his brother to come to America.

In June 1938 Sali and Nanni Bacharach with their children Henry (1923 – 1975), Werner (1925 – 1991), and Margot (born 1926), all born in Fellheim, and Nanni’s mother Karoline Joelsohn emigrated to Hartfort, Connecticut. Karoline died there in 1954 and is buried there. In 1953 the Bacharachs moved to New York, where Nanni died in 1984. I don’t know when her husband died.

My cousin Margot married Mr. Silverman in America. (He was born in Oberelsbach nearby Wuerzburg.) He had come to the USA with the last ship that carried passengers before WWII. He died in 1996. They had a daughter Karen, who has four children. Erwin Joelsohn died in 1974/75.

Alfred Joelsohn, the second oldest son in the family of Moritz and Therese Joelsohn, lived in Berlin with his wife Anni and daughter Ruth, born 1928. In November 1939 they too emigrated to Amerika and Hartfort, Connecticut. Alfred died in Hartfort in 1966, his wife Anni died in 1997. Their daughter Ruth lives in Simsbury CT. She is a widow, and has two sons and a daughter. Since her mother Anni was not Jewish Ruth had an evangelical baptism.

Margot and Ruth are my cousins. Joan Zuckerman is a second cousin. Her grandmother was Therese, married to Mr. Reinstein, stepsister of my grandfather Moritz Joelsohn. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona. She is in the process of compiling an extensive family tree and has a large network of contacts in many branches of the family, even in Isreal, where some of them live.

My father, Ludwig Joelsen, as you know, had a Christian evangelical baptism. Since my mother was not Jewish either, I did too. (I was born in 1926). My father had worked for a Swiss insurance company, but was let go, after the November-pogrom, without previous notice. The reason given: He had hidden the fact that he was a Jew. He became unemployed, and my mother had to work as a saleslady to support the family. With the help of a minister my father got a job as a packer in the Evangelical book dealership, until the forced labor began. During the last three years of the so-called Third Reich he had to wash street cars in Munich. Of course he was not allowed to drive the street cars, but he had to wash them. In February 1945 he was scheduled to be transported to Theresienstadt concentration camp, but he was too ill to be transported (a lung condition). After the war he first worked in the Employment office in Munich. After that he got a job with the Office of Reparation/Restitution and Property Compensation/Indemnification.

I remember that he went to Gunzenhausen with my mother once after the war. I am not quite sure if I remember correctly, but I believe the city had invited him to spend a few days in the city of his birth. I had already left Munich when my mother told me in a very happy letter, that they had been received with kindness everywhere. My father was a very peace loving man, and I could not imagine him as being vengeful.

Nowadays I work for the Dachau Memorial and the Church of Atonement which are located on the site of the former concentration camp. As a witness to the history of that period I tell visiting groups of students four stories about my youth:
1. How I found out in school (not from my parents) that I am considered a Half Jew by the NAZIs.
2. How the local NAZI officials told the parents of my friends, not to let them play with me anymore.
3. How I was excluded from attending school in 1943.
4. How I ended up in three different forced labor camps in 1944.

I kept quiet about my background/story for a long time. Now I feel it is important that I tell it because I want to give today’s young people the courage to fight back the next time somebody wants to split up their world into those who belong, and those who don’t (are not allowed in).

If you have any further questions, and if I can answer them, I will be glad to help. I think it is remarkable that these young people put such an effort into making sure, that the people who were condemned to oblivion by the NAZIs, will not be forgotten history, but that their history will remain alive.

Walter Joelsen

Regarding the invitation to Gunzenhausen. It could very well have been issued by Ludwig Joelsen’s office, the Commission for victims of racial, religious, and political persecution. We reported about our subsequent meeting in Dachau in the daily paper, “Altmuehl Bote”.

Students meet with witness of the history in Gunzenhausen

In 2004 visited our class  Walter Joelsen in Dachau
In 2004 visited our class Walter Joelsen in Dachau

For years now school classes and other visitors from the region go to the former concentration camp Dachau, many of them without realizing that, the docent in the Church of Atonement, who is there to tell them about the history, is a descendent of a Jewish family from Gunzenhausen.

Walter Joelsen, whose father Ludwig Joelsohn grew up in Waagstrasse 2, invited our class from the Stephani school in for a talk, because we had been researching the history of his family.

In a report in the “Sueddeutsche Zeitung” he had read about the research our class has been doing and went on the internet to check our site. There he found the story about the family of the merchant Moritz Joelsohn, his grandfather.

He contacted the students via e-mail and provided them with the complete story of his family specifically about the period of the “Third Reich”. To that effect he wrote: The NAZI’s goal was to eradicate the Jewish people and erase all memories of them. The work your students are doing is an uprising against this trend. This makes me very happy, and not only for personal reasons.

While his father’s three siblings and their mother could emigrate to the USA he stayed behind in Munich, because he had married an evangelical woman and had himself converted to Evangelism. As the only son, he attended the “Gymnasium” (high school) until he was branded a Half Jew and was deported to a forced labor camp in the vicinity of Buchenwald concentration camp.

His description of the life with his family, his father who had already changed his name, his childhood and his youth as Half Jew was vivid and very moving. The students were very surprised at his chosen vocation. He became an Evangelical minister.

After he had worked as a students’ minister for many years the ZDF (Television station) became interested in him. So he took a leave of absence and became a moderator for them. He stayed with TV from 1965 – 1985 and hosted for example the “Treffpunkt” show.

Since he had always enjoyed working with young people he was all set to be retired, so he could work with young people again. He accepted a position as docent in the Memorial for Dachau Concentration Camp, so he could tell them about the things he witnessed in the ‘Third Reich”. For many years he would not speak of his experiences, but then it became very important to him to tell his story. He wanted to encourage young people to stand up against those who might again try to divide the world into those who belong, and those who are prevented from belonging.

Familie Moritz Joelsohn

Moritz Joelsohn, geb. 30.05.1865 in Gunzenhausen, ist der Sohn des Handelsmannes Joel Joelsohn und seiner Frau Therese, geb. Neuburger. Er wurde auch als Viehhändler in Gunzenhausen bekannt. Seine Frau war Karolina Kocherthaler, geb. am 21.05.1872 in Ernsbach.

Die Wohnanschrift der Familie Joelsohn war von 1897 – 1913 die Hensoltstraße 4.

Hensoltstraße 4
Hensoltstraße 4

Das Ehepaar hatte vier Kinder:

  • Ludwig: Am 02.10.1894 in Gunzenhausen geboren.
    Er ließ sich am 27. November 1921 in München christlich taufen.
  • Ludwig Joelsohn hielt sich nach Kriegsende alsPersönlicher Referent des Staatskommissariates für rassisch, religiös und politisch Verfolgte in Gunzenhausen auf.
  • Alfred: m 19.08.1895 in Gunzenhausen geboren.
    Im 1. Weltkrieg erhielt er das Eiserne Kreuz der II. Klasse.
    Er wurde auch mit dem Militär-Verdienstkreuz der III. Klasse mit Schwertern ausgezeichnet.
    Um 1939 ist er in Berlin-Neuköln gemeldet.
  • Erwin: Am 14.05.1897 in Gunzenhausen geboren.
    Er arbeitete als Viehhändler und wurde als Maschinengewehrschütze im Oktober 1917 mit dem Militär-Verdienstkreuz der III. Klasse mit Schwertern ausgezeichnet.
    1929 wanderte er nach Amerika aus
  • Nanni: Am 08.10.1899 ebenfalls in Gunzenhausen geboren und heiratete am 18.04.1922 den Viehhändler Sali Bacharach aus Fellheim, geb. am 30.05.1892.
    Das Ehepaar wanderte 1938 mit seinen Kindern Henry, Werner und Margot sowie der Großmutter nach Hartford/Connecticut aus.

Quelle: Personendokumentation der jüdischen Einwohner von Gunzenhausen. Zusammengestellt von Werner Mühlhäußer, Stadtarchivar

Im Jahr 2004 meldete sich ein Nachkomme der Familie Joelsohn bei uns. Es ist Herr Walter Joelsen aus München, ein Sohn von Ludwig Joelsohn. Obwohl evangelisch getauft, wurde er während des Krieges als ‚Halbjude’ diskriminiert und in ein Arbeitslager abkommandiert. Später arbeitete er als evangelischer Studentenpfarrer und dann viele Jahre für das Zweite Deutsche Fernsehen.

Im April 2004 sandte er uns per E-Mail Informationen über das Schicksal seiner Familie:

Liebe Schüler,
durch einen Artikel in der Süddeutschen Zeitung bin ich wieder einmal auf Ihre Internetseiten aufmerksam geworden und habe gesehen, dass Sie inzwischen Ergebnisse zu der Familie, aus der ich komme, veröffentlichen. Ich möchte Ihnen dazu einige Ergänzungen mitteilen, die ich vor zwei Jahren schon einmal Herrn Mühlhäußer geschickt habe.

Ich bin der Sohn von Ludwig Joelsen, dem ältesten Sohn von Moritz Joelsohn. Mein Vater hat sich evangelisch taufen lassen, hat dadurch den engen Kontakt zu seiner Herkunftsfamilie verloren, hat auch seinen Namen verändert, sodass ich als Walter Joelsen aufgewachsen bin.

Mein Großvater, Moritz Joelsohn, ist 1929 in Gunzenhausen gestorben. Er ist auf dem jüdischen Friedhof beerdigt. Wo dort sein Grab ist, weiß ich nicht. Sein Grabstein ist aber noch erhalten und steht an einer Friedhofsmauer. Meine Großmutter Karolina, geb.Kocherthaler, war also alleine zurückgeblieben und wurde nach dem Pogrom von 1934 im Jahr 1935 von der Familie ihrer Tochter Nanni von Gunzenhausen nach Fellheim (bei Memmingen) geholt.

Ihr Sohn Erwin war 1929 nach USA ausgewandert. So war er in der Lage, seiner Mutter und der Familie seiner Schwester und seines Bruders Alfred Visa für Amerika zu schicken.

Im Juni 1938 sind Sali und Nanni Bacharach mit ihren Kindern Henry (1923 - 1975), Werner (1925 - 1991) und Margot (geb. 1926), die alle drei in Fellheim geboren sind, und der Großmutter nach Hartford/Connecticut ausgewandert. Meine Großmutter starb dort 1954 und ist auch dort beerdigt. 1953 zogen die Bacharachs nach New York. Nanni starb 1984. Wann ihr Mann starb, weiß ich nicht.

Meine Cousine Margot hat in Amerika Herrn Silverman (geb. in Oberelsbach bei Würzburg) geheiratet, der mit dem letzten Schiff aus Deutschland kam. Er starb 1996. Sie haben eine Tochter Karen, die 4 Kinder hat. Erwin Joelsohn starb 1974/75.

Alfred Joelsohn, der zweitälteste Sohn der Familie lebte in Berlin mit seiner Frau Anni und Tochter Ruth (geb. 1928) Sie sind im November 1939 nach Amerika und ebenfalls nach Hartford ausgewandert. Alfred starb 1966 in Hartford, seine Frau Annie starb 1997. Die Tochter Ruth lebt in Simsbury/CT, ist verwitwet und hat zwei Söhne und eine Tochter. Da ihre Mutter Anni nicht jüdisch war, ist Ruth evangelisch getauft.

Margot und Ruth sind meine Cousinen. Eine Cousine zweiten Grades ist Joan Zuckerman. Ihre Großmutter war Therese (verh. Reinstein), Stiefschwester meines Großvaters Moritz. Sie lebt in Scottsdale, Arizona. Sie ist dabei, einen umfangreichen Familien-Stammbaum aufzustellen. Sie hat große Kenntnisse über alle möglichen Verzweigungen der Familie, hat Kontakte auch nach Israel, wo auch Glieder der Familie leben.

Mein Vater Ludwig Joelsen hat sich, wie Ihnen ja bekannt, evangelisch taufen lassen. Da meine Mutter nicht jüdisch war, wurde ich auch evangelisch getauft (geb. 1926). Mein Vater hat bei einer Schweizer Versicherung gearbeitet und wurde nach den November-Pogromen 1938 fristlos entlassen. Begründung: Er habe verschwiegen, dass er Jude ist. Er war dann arbeitslos, meine Mutter arbeitete als Verkäuferin, um die Familie zu ernähren. Durch Vermittlung eines Pfarrers fand mein Vater eine Tätigkeit als Packer in der Evangelischen Buchhandlung, bis die Zwangsarbeit begann. Die letzten Jahre des sog. 3. Reichs musste er in München Straßenbahnen waschen. Er durfte zwar nicht Straßenbahn fahren, musste aber die Wägen waschen. Im Februar 1945 sollte er in das KZ Theresienstadt deportiert werden, war aber so krank (eine Lungengeschichte), dass er nicht mehr transportfähig war. Nach dem Krieg arbeitete er erst im Arbeitsamt München, bekam dann eine Stelle im Amt für Wiedergutmachung, im Landesentschädigungssamt.

Ich erinnere mich, dass er einmal mit meiner Mutter nach dem Krieg nach Gunzenhausen fuhr. Ich weiß nicht, ob meine Erinnerung stimmt. Aber nach dieser Erinnerung war er eingeladen worden (von der Stadt?), ein paar Tage in seiner Geburtsstadt zu verbringen. Meine Mutter schrieb mir damals (ich war schon nicht mehr in München) begeistert, dass sie überall so freundlich aufgenommen worden seien. Mein Vater war ein friedliebender Mensch. Für mich ist es nicht vorstellbar, dass er sich als Rächer aufgespielt hat.

Ich arbeite heute im Rahmen der Gedenkstätte Dachau und der Versöhnungskirche auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen KZ mit Schulklassen als Zeitzeuge und erzähle vier Geschichten aus meiner Jugend:
1. Wie ich in der Schule (und nicht durch meine Eltern) erfahre habe, dass ich für die Nazis als sog. Halbjude gelte.
2. Wie der Nazi-Ortsgruppenleiter den Eltern meiner Freunde verboten hat, ihre Kinder weiter mit mir spielen zu lassen.
3. Wie ich 1943 vom Schulbesuch ausgeschlossen wurde.
4. Wie ich 1944 in drei verschiedene Zwangsarbeitslager kam.

Ich habe lange über meine Geschichte geschwiegen. Heute ist es mir wichtig zu erzählen, weil ich den jungen Menschen Mut machen möchte, sich zu wehren, wenn wieder welche anfangen, die Welt einzuteilen in solche, die dazu
gehören, und solche, die nicht dazu gehören dürfen.

Wenn Sie weitere Fragen haben und ich sie beantworten kann, stehe ich Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Ich finde es bewundernswert, dass junge Menschen ihre Kraft einsetzen, dass die Geschichte von Menschen, die die Nazis zum Vergessen-Werden verurteilt haben, wieder in Erinnerung gerufen wird.

Walter Joelsen

Mit dem Besuch in Gunzenhausen ist sicher der Auftrag an Ludwig Joelsen als Persönlicher Referent des Staatskommissariates für rassisch, religiös und politisch Verfolgte in Gunzenhausen gemeint.

Über unser anschließendes Treffen in Dachau berichteten wir in der Tageszeitung Altmühl-Bote:

Schüler treffen auf Zeitzeugen aus Gunzenhauen
"Seit Jahren fahren Schulklassen und andere Besucher aus der Region in das ehemalige Konzentrationslager Dachau, viele davon ohne zu wissen, dass in der kleinen Versöhnungskirche auf dem Gelände ein Mann für Zeitzeugengespräche bereit steht, dessen jüdische Familie aus Gunzenhausen stammt.

Walter Joelsen, dessen Vater Ludwig Joelsohn in der Waagstraße 2 aufgewachsen ist, hat die Klasse aus der Stephani-Schule, die die Geschichte seiner Familie erforscht hat, zu einem Gespräch empfangen.

In einem Bericht der Süddeutschen Zeitung hatte er über die Arbeit der Schüler gelesen und im Internet die Website der Stephani-Schule gesucht. Dort fand er den Bericht über die Familie des Handelsmannes Moritz Joelsohn aus der Waagstraße, seinem Großvater.

Per E-Mail nahm er Kontakt zu den Schülern auf und übermittelte ihnen die vollständige Geschichte seiner Familie, insbesondere über die Zeit während des Dritten Reiches. Dazu schrieb er: „Den Nazis lag daran, jüdische Menschen dem Vergessen zu überantworten, alle Erinnerungen auszulöschen. Die Arbeit von Ihnen und den Schülern ist Widerstand gegen dieses Vergessen. Mich macht das - nicht nur aus persönlichen Gründen - glücklich.“

Während die drei Geschwister seines Vaters mit ihrer Mutter in die USA emigrieren konnten, blieb dieser in München, da er eine evangelische Frau geheiratet hatte und auch selbst evangelisch geworden war. Er, der einzige Sohn, besuchte dort das Gymnasium bis er als Halbjude in ein Zwangsarbeitslager in der Nähe des KZs Buchenwald verschleppt wurde.

Sehr eindringlich und bewegend schilderte der Mann, dessen Vater schon den Familiennamen in Joelsen abgeändert hatte, seine Kindheit und Jugend als Halbjude. Verblüffend für die Schüler war seine spätere Berufswahl: Er wurde evangelischer Pfarrer.

Nachdem er viele Jahre als Studentenpfarrer gearbeitet hatte, interessierte sich das ZDF für ihn. So ließ er sich beurlauben und arbeitete u.a. auch als Moderator für diesen Sender. Von 1965 bis 1985 blieb er beim Fernsehen und moderierte z. B. die Sendung ,Treffpunkt’.

Da er sich schon immer stark in der Jugendarbeit engagiert hatte, erklärte er sich nach seiner Versetzung in den Ruhestand bereit in der Gedenkstätte auf dem ehemaligen Konzentrationslager in Dachau Jugendlichen als Zeitzeuge über seine Erlebnisse während des Dritten Reiches zu berichten. Erst spät sei er dazu bereit gewesen. „Ich habe lange über meine Geschichte geschwiegen. Heute ist es mir wichtig zu erzählen, weil ich den jungen Menschen Mut machen möchte sich zu wehren, wenn wieder welche anfangen die Welt einzuteilen in solche, die dazu gehören und solche, die nicht dazu gehören dürfen.“